University Relations Board


  • 4:30 pm
  • 2nd Wednesday of every month
  • Council Chamber
    776 NE 125 Street
    2nd Floor
    North Miami, 33161


MemberAppointed ByTerm Ending
Jason B. PearMayor Bien-AimeExpired
Bonnie SchwartzbaumAt-Large - Councilman GalvinContinuous
Robin TisdahlAt-Large - Councilman Galvin
Marie Philogene At-Large - Councilman Galvin
Lucia GonzalezNorth Miami LibraryContinuous
Robin Hankerson - RepresentativeJohnson and Wales UniversityExpired
Annick De Bruyne - RepresentativeFIUN/A
VacantMiami Dade Community CollegeN/A
VacantBarry UniversityN/A


Member information

The Board shall consist of five (5) members appointed at-large by the Mayor and Council. Each member shall be a resident of the City of North Miami or be affiliated with a business located within the City of North Miami. Members shall be appointed for two year terms. In addition, representatives of Johnson and Wales University, Florida International University, Miami-Dade Community College and Barry University shall have membership on the Board. The members of the Board shall designate from its members a Chairman, a Vice-Chairman, and a Secretary. Five members of the Board shall constitute a quorum. Should any member not attend two consecutive, or a total of three meetings of the Board, without an excused absence, that member shall automatically be removed and replaced by the Mayor and City Council.

About the Board

The University Relations Board, established by Resolution R-2000-13 on February 8, 2000; coordinates activities and explores mutual concerns with institutions of higher learning, specifically Johnson and Wales University. The Board, previously known as Town and Gown Committee, recommends programs and projects to the City Council that coordinate relations between the City and local institutions of higher learning.